Our values


Our six fundamental values, which we embody with diligence in all our actions, are: justice, solidarity, cooperation, commitment, integrity and independence.

These values are interconnected and guarantee a healthy collaboration within the framework of international cooperation projects based on respect, listening, and equality between partners.

Respecting and promoting these values allows us to harness the power of indignation to fight against resignation in the face of injustice. It changes lives by using the law to make a difference, at the right place and at the right time.


Justice 


Justice is at the heart of LWBC's activities. We understand it in the broadest possible sense, through a humanistic perspective of social justice and fairness. More specifically, LWBC works to uphold the rule of law and the human rights of vulnerable groups, particularly through the strengthening of justice systems. LWBC concentrates its actions on the implementation of civil and political rights, while considering them indivisible from economic, social and cultural rights.


Solidarity


LWBC is an organisation that works in global solidarity with the victims of human rights violations, vulnerable groups, lawyers (particularly human rights advocates), actors in the justice system generally, and civil society organizations. The role of LWBC's representatives, among other things, is to support human rights advocates in their work. LWBC focuses on human relations by acting in a spirit of fraternity, empathy, respect, humility, openness to others, and listening. The reward for this engagement is that participating in LWBC's activities constitutes an opportunity for human enrichment.


Cooperation


LWBC accomplishes its fundamental mission by carrying out international cooperation projects in accordance with management principles that focus on creating concrete and long-lasting results for the beneficiaries. Through its employees at headquarters and in the field, the organisation ensures the professional, efficient, and innovative management of LWBC's interventions and projects. The implementation of these is also supported by expert volunteers.

LWBC's projects are designed to meet needs identified by local partners and stakeholders, in situations where LWBC believes its contribution would be useful, respecting its values and methods of intervention. They are devised as collective projects, in that they involve working together in a synergistic, complementary manner to further human rights. They are based on a goal defined with LWBC's partners, and take into account LWBC's mission and the context in which the activities take place. This international cooperation is intended to be a bilateral or multilateral mutual exchange of knowledge, expertise, and experience, with a view to sustainable development.


Engagement 


LWBC's work involves a threefold commitment: to human rights, to the beneficiaries of LWBC's interventions (victims of human rights violations and vulnerable groups), and to the organization and its partners. The organization was founded on the principle of voluntary commitment and this remains at the heart of LWBC's actions, even if the programs are now managed by a team of professionals based at the headquarters and in the field. In the spirit of self-giving, the commitment is a voluntary one which takes place within a structured framework and forms part of a perspective of long-term solidarity, without pursuing personal gain.


Integrity


The organization, its volunteers, employees, and contractors must demonstrate honesty and transparency at all times in their actions and exchanges. Similarly, LWBC will not compromise on respecting the applicable laws, regulations and standards, particularly with regard to ethics and corruption. To the end of ensuring organizational integrity, LWBC does not claim to be what it is not, or do what it does not do, or know what it does not know. LWBC strives to be realistic regarding its potential contribution, and to respond to the needs of the beneficiaries of its interventions, those of its partners, and its own team, in such a way as to avoid committing to more than the organization is capable of delivering.


Independence 


LWBC's cause is that of justice and human rights. In defending this cause, LWBC aims to improve access to justice by protecting the right to legal representation and a fair trial, or by supporting the fight against impunity. LWBC may therefore find itself on the side of victims, the defence, or the prosecution, vulnerability being the criterion for its involvement. Lawyers are bound by ethical duties, of independence to their client and impartiality in their actions. LWBC applies this logic to its own relationships and activities, by avoiding being equated with the beneficiaries of its actions or with the cause of said beneficiaries. LWBC thus does not speak for anyone other than itself and is not bound by the wishes, opinions, or positions of any third party.


Thanks to our partners without borders

Consulter la liste des partenaires

Nos valeurs


Nos six valeurs fondamentales, que nous incarnons avec diligence dans toutes nos actions, sont la justice, la solidarité, la coopération, l'engagement, l'intégrité et l'indépendance.

Réunies l'une à l'autre, ces valeurs sont garantes d'une saine collaboration dans le cadre de projets de coopération internationale axés sur le respect, l'écoute et l'égalité des partenaires.

Le respect et la promotion de ces valeurs permettent d’utiliser la puissance de l’indignation afin de combattre la résignation devant l’injustice. Il permet de changer des vies en utilisant le droit afin de faire une différence au bon endroit, au bon moment.


Justice 


La justice est au coeur de l’action d’ASFC. Cette expression s’entend au sens le plus large, dans une perspective humaniste de justice sociale et d’équité. De manière plus particulière, ASFC oeuvre au respect de la primauté du droit et à la réalisation des droits humains des groupes vulnérables, notamment par le renforcement des systèmes de justice. ASFC concentre son action sur la mise en oeuvre des droits civils et politiques tout en les considérant indissociables des droits économiques, sociaux et culturels.


Solidarité


ASFC est une entreprise de solidarité internationale envers les victimes de violations des droits humains, les groupes vulnérables, les avocats (en particulier les défenseurs des droits humains), les acteurs de la justice en général et les organisations de la société civile. Le rôle des représentants d’ASFC consiste, entre autres, à accompagner les avocats défenseurs des droits humains dans leur travail. ASFC se concentre sur les relations humaines en agissant dans un esprit de fraternité, d’empathie, de respect, d’humilité, d’ouverture à l’autre et d’écoute. La contrepartie de ce don de soi est que la participation aux activités d’ASFC constitue une opportunité d’enrichissement humain.


Coopération


ASFC accomplit sa mission fondamentale en réalisant des projets de coopération internationale et ce, en fonction des principes de gestion axée sur des résultats tangibles et durables pour les bénéficiaires. L’organisation, par le biais de ses employés au siège et sur le terrain, assure la gestion professionnelle, efficace et novatrice des interventions et projets d’ASFC, dont la mise en oeuvre est également appuyée par des coopérants volontaires experts. Les projets d’ASFC sont élaborés afin de répondre aux besoins exprimés par les partenaires et intervenants locaux, dans la mesure où ASFC est convaincue de l’utilité de sa contribution dans le respect de ses valeurs et modes d’intervention. Ils sont pensés en termes de projets collectifs, en ce sens qu’il s’agit de travailler en synergie et en complémentarité pour faire avancer les droits humains en fonction d’une finalité définie avec les partenaires d’ASFC qui tient compte de la mission d’ASFC et du contexte dans lequel les activités prennent place. Cette coopération internationale se veut un échange réciproque – bilatéral ou multilatéral – de savoirs, d’expertises et d’expériences dans une optique de développement durable.


Engagement 


Le travail avec ASFC suppose un triple engagement : envers les droits humains, envers les bénéficiaires des interventions d’ASFC (les victimes de violations de droits humains et les groupes vulnérables) et envers l’organisation et ses partenaires. L’organisation a été fondée sur le principe de l’engagement bénévole, qui demeure au coeur de l’action d’ASFC même si les programmes sont désormais gérés par une équipe de professionnels employés au siège et sur le terrain. Dans un esprit de don de soi, il s’agit d’un engagement volontaire, qui se réalise dans un cadre structuré et qui s’inscrit dans une perspective de solidarité à long terme, sans recherche de profit personnel.


Intégrité


L’organisation, ses bénévoles, ses employés et ses contractants doivent en tout temps faire preuve d’honnêteté et de transparence dans leurs actions et leurs échanges. Dans la même veine, ASFC ne fait pas de compromis quant au respect des lois, règles et normes applicables, notamment en ce qui concerne l’éthique et la corruption. Dans une optique d’intégrité organisationnelle, ASFC ne prétend pas être ce qu’elle n’est pas, ni faire ce qu’elle ne fait pas, ni savoir ce qu’elle ne sait pas. ASFC désire faire preuve de réalisme quant à son apport potentiel et répondre aux attentes des bénéficiaires de ses interventions, de ses partenaires et de sa propre équipe de façon à ne pas s’engager au-delà de ce que l’organisation est en mesure de réaliser.


Indépendance 


La cause d’ASFC est celle de la justice et des droits humains. En défendant cette cause, ASFC cherche à renforcer l’accès à la justice en protégeant le droit à la représentation légale et à un procès équitable ou en appuyant la lutte contre l’impunité. ASFC peut ainsi se retrouver aux côtés des victimes, de la défense ou de l’accusation, le critère d’engagement étant la vulnérabilité. Tout comme l’avocat est tenu à un devoir d’éthique, d’indépendance face à son client et d’impartialité dans ses actions, ASFC transpose cette logique à la conduite de ses relations et activités en évitant d’être assimilée aux bénéficiaires de ses actions ou à la cause de tels bénéficiaires. ASFC n’est donc porte-parole de personne sauf d’elle-même et n’est liée par les volontés, les opinions et les positions d’aucune tierce partie.