Annual Report 2020-2021

Taking
pride in
commitment.

Overview

The period under consideration in this annual report, running from April 1, 2020 through March 31, 2021, was undeniably affected by the globally disruptive pandemic of COVID-19. Amidst the pandemic, the security context deteriorated and democracy declined in nearly all of our countries of intervention. But none of these setbacks stopped us in our work.

Given the wide geographical presence Lawyers Without Borders Canada (LWBC) has developed over the years, with astonishing teams and partners directly on site, we were able to pursue our work in the countries where LWBC is established. Throughout the world, our partners rolled up their sleeves and demonstrated courage and resilience, adapted, and continued their efforts to support vulnerable groups in exercising their rights and ultimately improve their situation. 

We listened, we demonstrated our capacity to adapt and be creative. In short, we underwent considerable change and worked incredibly hard. New work strategies were developed, some leveraging information technologies. Like many of you, we widely enforced a working-from-home model, and learned how to increase cohesion within our teams worldwide in spite of geographical distance. This enabled us to reduce our carbon footprint, with some activities no longer requiring on-site participation, as virtual collaboration became the new normal. To make a long story short, we braved the storm, keeping our own borders open while the world’s borders were closed.

We’ve grown a lot in the process, transforming challenges into opportunities. Without compromising our values and principles, we managed to strengthen our programs, our methodology, our policy and our organizational capabilities. What results did we yield? Despite the hostile conditions we faced this past year, once again we are glad to report exceptional results for the advancement of justice, human rights and development.

In Mali, the majorly LWBC-supported Truth, Justice and Reconciliation Committee (TJRC) contributed to peace by establishing the truth regarding conflicts and other episodes involving armed violence in Mali, and allowed victims—especially women—to participate actively in the transitional justice process. Despite the pandemic, despite terrorism and despite a coup d’état, the TJRC held public hearings, received more than 7,000 depositions and testimonies, and raised awareness among over 5,000 people. All of this contributed to stabilizing and increasing security in Mali, but also more widely in Africa, and globally. 

In Colombia too, LWBC continued to support the peace and reconciliation process, in spite of unfavourable conditions resulting from a troubled political and health context. Thanks to a specific methodology developed with civil society organizations, LWBC enabled hundreds of women to become involved in transitional justice and to have an impact on its course.

Major milestones were reached regarding criminal punishment for human trafficking in Central America, as LWBC provided support in helping the specialized human trafficking courts in Guatemala get back on track, delivered training to prosecutors specialized in these cases, strengthened cooperation between institutions, and increased direct participation of victims in the exercise of their rights. 

The outstanding victories which LWBC helped secure in collaboration with its partners before national and international courts deserve positive recognition. Such is the case in the area of sexual and reproductive rights, gender-based violence, and discrimination. The Vicky Hernández case, involving the murder of a transgender woman in 2009 in Honduras, was brought successfully before the Inter-American Court of Human Rights, and constitutes a step in the right direction for the LGBTI community on a global scale. In Cobán, Guatemala, the hearings relating to cases of sexual violence committed against girls in the school system shook the whole country and are bringing about important changes in policies and standards aimed at preventing further serious abuse. In Mali, legal proceedings were initiated to end to the practice of descent-based slavery (whereby a person is considered to be a slave based on their ancestors’ status as slaves) forced the State to take action, including by reforming the country’s Criminal Code. In Haiti, women who were raped during detention in a prison in Gonaïves were released. 

Also in Haiti, the representatives of victims of the cholera epidemic, after 10 years of waiting, were finally given the opportunity to express themselves directly before the UN, thanks to LWBC’s efforts. As the epidemic was caused by UN forces in Haiti, this dialogue is an essential requirement for the reparation of the harms endured by the victims.

The fight against corruption intensified, including in Haiti and in Honduras, where corruption practices are being called out and disclosed by organizations backed by LWBC. 

In all of its countries of intervention, LWBC helped bring about profound changes in the practice of law by providing training to a new generation of legal professionals committed to human rights, through the LWBC internship program and partner law firms.

On the financial front, we practised caution as early as March 2020, substantially cutting the budget we had drawn up before the pandemic. This strategy proved successful in such a way that we managed to end the financial year keeping to the revised budget, which represents a 14% decrease in comparison to the previous year. As such, LWBC is now in the best position to resume  healthy growth, provisions for which have already been made in the 2021-2022 budget. The first few months of 2021 already pointed towards increased growth, as 12 new projects were signed for a total value of more than $45 million spanning several years. 

The new strategic plan for 2021-24, which was adopted following a highly participatory process involving LWBC’s international team, plans to leverage this momentum to consolidate LWBC’s position as an indispensable actor in legal empowerment, in Canada and around the world. We will achieve this by continuing to leverage the law and legal mechanisms as instruments for change, to strengthen quality legal services and deliver tangible results to improve the lives of people in vulnerable situations.

Thank you to our partners, both in the field and within Canada, and to all those who support us and follow us in our mission!

Delia Cristea, President of the Board of Directors

Pascal Paradis – Executive Director

LWBC in Figures

Select a black circle to find out more.

Click on the shapes
for more information

18

projects

from international cooperation

23

nationalities

on our team (Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Ecuador, France, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, Mali, Mexico, Peru, El Salvador, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, the United States, and Venezuela)

100 high-profile cases

of human rights violations brought

before international courts

15,000 people

in vulnerable situations

including human rights defenders, benefited directly from our activities or those conducted by our partners

8,700 victims

supported

by LWBC or LWBC partners, including through direct legal aid and judicial assistance

7

offices

around the world (Bamako, Bogota, Guatemala City, Quebec City, Port-au-Prince, San Salvador, and Tegucigalpa),
and 4 regional offices (Medellin, Bucaramanga, and Pasto in Colombia, and Montreal in Canada)

8 countries

of intervention

(Benin, Burkina Faso, Colombia, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mali, El Salvador) 

109 employees

and interns

and 23 volunteers deployed nationally and internationally, including 91 women and 41 men

FiguresFrom April 1, 2020 to March 31, 2021

ASFC Around the World

Select a black circle to find out more.

Click on one of the dots
on the map to find out more.

Rapport annuel 2020-2021

Rapport annuel 2020-2021

Fière
d'être
engagée.

EN BREF

La période du 1er avril 2020 au 31 mars 2021 couverte par le présent rapport annuel a évidemment été marquée par la pandémie de COVID-19 qui a profondément bouleversé notre monde. À la pandémie se sont ajoutées une détérioration du contexte sécuritaire et une réduction de l’espace démocratique dans à peu près tous nos pays d’intervention. Mais rien de tout cela ne nous a arrêtés !

Avocats sans frontières Canada (ASFC) étant déjà bien « localisée », avec de formidables équipes et partenaires situés directement sur le terrain, le travail a pu se poursuivre dans les pays où l’organisation est présente. Nos partenaires partout dans le monde se sont retroussés les manches, ont fait preuve de courage et de résilience, se sont adaptés et ont continué à accompagner les personnes en situation de vulnérabilité afin qu’elles puissent exercer leurs droits et changer leur situation pour le mieux. 

Nous avons été à l’écoute, nous avons fait preuve de flexibilité et d’imagination, nous nous sommes réinventés et avons travaillé très dur. Des nouvelles façons de faire ont été développées, notamment en misant sur les technologies de l’information. Comme plusieurs d’entre vous, nous avons adopté le télétravail à grande échelle et apprit à créer de la cohésion entre nos équipes dans le monde malgré la distance physique. Notre empreinte environnementale est réduite, et certaines activités ne nécessitent plus de déplacements maintenant que le mode virtuel fait partie de notre quotidien. Bref : nous sommes passés à travers la tempête en demeurant sans frontières malgré la fermeture des frontières. 

Nous en ressortons même grandis. Nous avons en effet transformé l’épreuve en une opportunité. Tout en conservant nos valeurs et nos principes d’action, nous avons renforcé nos programmes, notre méthodologie, nos politiques et notre organisation. Le bilan? Malgré l’adversité, nous sommes heureux de vous rapporter cette année encore des résultats exceptionnels en faveur de la justice, des droits humains et du développement.

Au Mali, la Commission vérité, justice et réconciliation (CVJR), soutenue principalement par ASFC, a contribué à la paix par l’établissement de la vérité sur les conflits et autres épisodes de violence armée au Mali et en permettant aux victimes – notamment les femmes – de participer activement au processus de justice transitionnelle. Malgré la pandémie, malgré le terrorisme et malgré les coups d’État, la CVJR a tenu des audiences publiques, a reçu plus de 7 000 dépositions et témoignages et a sensibilisé plus de 5 000 personnes. Ce sont autant de contributions à la stabilisation et à la sécurité dans ce pays, en Afrique et dans le monde. 

En Colombie aussi ASFC a continué à appuyer le processus de paix et de réconciliation, même si les vents ont été peu favorables avec un contexte politique et sanitaire trouble. Grâce à une méthodologie développée avec les organisations de la société civile, ASFC a permis à des centaines de femmes de participer à la justice transitionnelle et à en influencer le cours. 

Des avancées importantes également sur le front de la répression pénale de la traite de personnes en Amérique centrale, avec l’appui d’ASFC à la reprise des activités des tribunaux spécialisés en la matière au Guatemala, la formation des procureurs anti-traite de personnes, le renforcement de la coopération interinstitutionnelle et la participation directe des victimes à l’exercice de leurs droits. 

Des victoires spectaculaires auxquelles ASFC a participé auprès de ses partenaires devant les tribunaux nationaux ou les instances internationales sont à saluer. C’est notamment le cas en matière de droits sexuels et reproductifs, de violences basées sur le genre et de discrimination. L’affaire Vicky Hernandez, personne trans assassinée en 2009 au Honduras, a été portée avec succès devant la Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme et constitue une avancée pour la communauté LGBTI à l’échelle internationale. À Cobán, au Guatemala, les audiences dans le cas des filles victimes de violences sexuelles dans le système scolaire ébranlent tout le pays et génèrent d’importants changements dans les politiques et normes pour prévenir ces graves abus. Au Mali, un recours pour mettre un terme à la pratique de « l’esclavage par ascendance » (une personne est considérée comme esclave parce que ses ancêtres ont été esclaves) a forcé l’État à agir notamment pour réformer le code pénal. En Haïti, des femmes victimes de viol alors qu’elles étaient détenues dans une prison des Gonaïves ont obtenu leur libération. 

En Haïti également, les représentants des victimes de l’épidémie de choléra ont, après 10 ans d’attente, enfin pu s’adresser directement à l’ONU grâce aux bons offices d’ASFC. L’épidémie ayant été causée par les forces de l’ONU en Haïti, ce dialogue est une condition essentielle à la réparation des torts subis par les victimes.

La lutte à la corruption s’est intensifiée notamment en Haïti et au Honduras, où les pratiques de corruption sont débusquées et dénoncées par des organisations soutenues par ASFC. 

Dans tous les pays d’intervention, ASFC a favorisé de profonds changements dans l’exercice du droit à travers la formation d’une nouvelle génération de juristes engagés envers les droits humains grâce au programme de stages d’ASFC et des cabinets d’avocats partenaires.

Sur le plan financier, nous avons été prudents en coupant substantiellement, dès le mois de mars 2020, le budget qui avait été préparé juste avant la pandémie. Cette stratégie a porté fruit : nous terminons l’exercice en respectant ce budget révisé, en baisse modérée de 14% par rapport à l’année précédente. ASFC est donc bien positionnée pour reprendre une saine croissance, déjà prévue dans le budget 2021-22. Les premiers mois de l’année 2021 ont déjà pointé dans cette direction, alors que nous avons signé des contrats pour 12 nouveaux projets d’une valeur totale dépassant les 45 M$ sur plusieurs années. 

Le nouveau plan stratégique 2021-24, adopté au terme d’un processus hautement participatif avec toute l’équipe internationale d’ASFC, compte bien miser sur cet élan afin de consolider la position d’ASFC comme actrice incontournable en matière d’autonomisation par le droit au Canada et dans le monde. Nous le ferons en continuant à utiliser le droit et les mécanismes judiciaires comme instruments de changement pour renforcer des services juridiques de qualité et livrer des résultats concrets en faveur des personnes en situation de vulnérabilité.

Merci à nos partenaires, sur le terrain comme au Canada, et à toutes celles et tous ceux qui nous aident et nous accompagnent dans cette mission !

Delia Cristea, Présidente du Conseil d'administration

Pascal Paradis, Directeur général

ASFC en chiffres

Clique les chiffres pour en savoir d'avantage

Cliquez sur les formes
pour plus d'informations

18

projets

de coopération internationale

23

nationalités

représentées au sein de l’équipe (américaine, argentine, autrichienne, béninoise, bolivienne, belge, canadienne, camerounaise, colombienne, équatorienne, espagnole, française, guatémaltèque, guinéenne, haïtienne, hondurienne, malienne, mexicaine, péruvienne, salvadorienne, serbe, suisse et vénézuélienne)

100 dossiers

emblématiques de violations des droits humains

portés devant les tribunaux et instances internationales

15 000 personnes

en situation de vulnérabilité

dont des défenseur.e.s des droits humains, bénéficiant directement de nos activités ou de celles organisées par nos partenaires

8700 victimes

accompagnées

notamment grâce aux services d’aide juridique et d’assistance judiciaire directs ou soutenus par nos partenaires

7 bureaux

dans le monde (Bamako, Bogotá, Ciudad de Guatemala, Québec, Port-au-Prince, San Salvador et Tegucigalpa) et 4 antennes régionales (Medellín, Bucaramanga et Pasto en Colombie, et Montréal)

8 pays

d’intervention

Colombie, Guatemala, Haïti, Honduras, Mali, Bénin, Burkina Faso, Salvador

109 employé.e.s

et stagiaires et 23 volontaires déployé.e.s

à l’échelle nationale et internationale, dont 91 femmes et 41 hommes

ChiffresDu 1er avril 2020 au 31 mars 2021

ASFC dans le monde

Clique les points de la carte pour plus d'informations

Cliquez sur les points de la carte
pour plus d'informations